New Year’s Resolution? Nah…

I’ve never really gotten on board with the whole “New Year’s Resolution” thing. I believe that if there’s something you want to change or do, you should just do it! Moving has given me the feeling of starting over, and with that, I’m resolving to make some lifestyle changes. I was really fit and eating well for awhile in college, but a series of foot and ankle injuries kept me from running for a few months and I never really got back into good habits after that. My body was able to keep up with my not-so-healthy lifestyle for awhile, but as I’ve progressed into my 20s my metabolism has changed pretty dramatically – as well as my body. It’s no secret to those who have seen me over the last few years that I put on quite a bit of weight. When I changed my diet last year, I dropped 20 pounds and have managed to keep it off consistently and without much effort, but I think now is the time to take things to the next step and really take care of myself. I’m turning 25 this year and I know that the older I get it, the harder it will be to get myself into good habits and see good results, so there’s no time like the present to make changes.

Starting today, I’m beginning a consistent exercise regimen. I already got my workout in this morning and it’s pretty shocking what terrible shape I’m in – I’m really looking forward to building up my strength and stamina! I’m also not going to be drinking wine at all during May (definitely my biggest vice, even in moderation) and I’m going to make an effort to eat even better and cleaner than I already do. Michigan harvests at low prices are already starting to show up in the stores so I really have no excuse not to eat well. I’m going to make an effort to be more proactive about my mental health as well. I’d say my mental health is actually pretty good, especially considering how troubled I was in my teens and early 20s. However, there is always something to work on and you can’t deny the links between negative emotional status and negative physical/social behaviors, so I want to do my best to stay on top of everything and improve myself in general. I have pretty high anxiety at times which leads me to make bad lifestyle choices as a source of comfort, and I want to change those bad behaviors into good ones. There’s something about turning 25 that’s flicking a switch in my brain and telling me it’s time to start pursuing being the best person I can be with fervor!

I’ve also been taking a lot of time to reflect on my life over the last two years. Kurt and I will have our second anniversary in June, which is totally crazy to me! Some days it feels like we just got married, others, like we’ve been doing this forever. I also realized that had I stayed in Finland for graduate school, I would have been completing my thesis right now and graduating this summer. Coming back to the US was an incredibly rocky, difficult process and I’d say it took me about a year to work through all of the negative emotions there, which certainly took a toll on me and Kurt. Even so, I know that coming back was the right decision because the growth Kurt and I have experienced as a couple working through things and the peace of mind I’ve been able to achieve were worth every second of doubt and unhappiness. I feel content with the time I’ve put in as a wife and housekeeper over the last year or so and I’m proud of how far we’ve come together. Now I know that our foundation is solid and I feel more than ready to tackle new goals in life. I haven’t been this excited for the next chapter in a long time.

Are there any milestones in your life that made you realize you wanted to change something?

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution? Nah…

  1. Really? You had to write about eating clean and exercising? I’m eating chocolate and haven’t gone to the gym since mid March… And it was my new year’s promise not to have long breaks from training!

    Moving countries or dividing your time between two countries is not easy and being an expat is usually not as glamorous as most people assume. Especially returning home is usually a horrible unexpected culture shock! Mind and body are definitely connected and it’s important to take care of yourself and find a balance in life. I’m still very much in the process but so glad I decided to come back to AMS.

    I’m so happy things are going well for you! Best of luck with your new chapter! Miss you lots.

    • Hahaha! This is too funny because looking at your blog always makes me feel like I should take better care of myself since you always look so lovely and fit and I finally decided to do something about it… virtual motivation :D

      It’s so funny how returning home always seems much harder than going to a new country. I think the worst part about ex-pat life for me is not being able to put my friends in my suitcase… or find cheap flights! There are so few people in my life who truly understand the ex-pat experience like you do, for example. I miss you too!

Leave a Reply

